How to get missing .NET MAUI templates in Visual Studio?

Darko Subić
3 min readApr 20, 2022

With the release of .Net Maui Release Candidate 1, I thought it was time to see what is new after testing it in Preview 4 state.
To my surprise, the .Net MAUI template was not accessible from the “Create a new project” screen in Visual Studio.

The short answer is that my Visual Studio was not a Preview version of Visual Studio and my Maui templates were not installed.

How did I get .Net MAUI templates running on my PC?

First I went to check my VS version from Help -> About Microsoft Visual Studio, and there I found out that it was not the preview version.

My version did not have underlined Preview part

In retrospect, I could have just checked the thumbnail icon on the taskbar (the orange text “PRE” was missing from it).

Left VS version is clearly Current/Stable version, and right one is Preview version

The next step was to use “Visual Studio Installer” to modify my Visual Studio 2022 instance so it can download the Preview version.

After download and installation were complete I opened VS once again, but the templates were still not visible.

That meant that I had to install them as an Extension.

Search for “maui” found package “.NET MAUI Project and Item Templates” and I was happy to download it.

One step closer to .NET MAUI templates

After shutting down VS, the installation automatically started, and all I had to do is press Modify button.

After 4–5 minutes the installation had finished.

And Maui templates were finally installed and ready to use!!!

Success!!!

Hope this helps you get you .NET MAUI templates :)

--

--